Tea place: Wadanoya

DSC01759.JPG

Wadanoya is a teahouse established in 1948, located in the temple district near Mt Bizan in Tokushima City. It serves Tokushima’s signature confectionery item called taki no yakimochi, which is very flat and lightly grilled rice cake with red bean filling. Taki no yakimochi has a history of 400 years, and Wadanoya pledges to serve it as authentic as possible.

DSC01761.JPG

As one enters the shop, there is a counter area to sit at. Further inside, passing a beautiful rock garden with a fish pond, are more seating areas. On the day of my visit, I chose to sit at the counter, where I could have a view of what goes on as the staff prepare orders, as well as a lovely view of the fish pond outside.

DSC01773.JPG

There were quite a number of customers, and even the counter area was fully occupied by the time I was ready to order. I decided to order the awabancha and yakimochi set, which costs 760yen.

DSC01766.JPG

The tea came first. This was my first time tasting awabancha and I loved it. I could taste the subtle sourish hint of the pickled tea, but it was not unpleasant at all. Fairly refreshing, actually.

DSC01767.JPG

The yakimochi came soon after I had my first sip. They were very hot, fresh off the grill. I took a first bite and was blown away by how delicious it was. It was sweet but not overpowering so. It went down well with the awabancha.

I took my time with the tea, enjoying the atmosphere of the teahouse. One of the staff started a conversation with me, and was surprised to learn I came all the way from Malaysia.

On my way out of the teahouse, I managed to get a peek of the kitchen where they prepare the yakimochi. An old woman working expertly at the grill allowed me to take her photo, which I did.

DSC01777.JPG

That was the first day I arrived in Shikoku and I was moved by the warmth of the people. Despite the dreary weather that greeted me in Tokushima City, the teahouse experience and the people I spoke to brightened up my expectation of this region.

Wadanoya is open from 10am to 5pm. It closes on every Thursday.

2 thoughts on “Tea place: Wadanoya

  1. Pingback: Tea tasting: Kamikatsu Awabancha | 茶柱 The Floating Tea Stem

  2. Pingback: Tea tasting: Awabancha (Take 2) | 茶柱 The Floating Tea Stem

Leave a Reply

